Board of Directors

The Board of Director meetings   are open to the public. Minutes are available upon request to

2019 Meeting Schedule

  • June 27, 2019 at 1:30pm
  • October 24, 2019 at 1:30pm
    Location to be announced


Brett Bell, Chair
Carmen Caldwell, Vice Chair
Stephanie Blokzyl,  Past Chair
Joy Gaddy, Parliamentarian
Jewel Walker-Harps, Secretary
Anthony Aikens, Treasurer
Mike Yates, At Large
Jeanetta Allen
Karl Broder
William Doss
Robert Dull
Phyllis Easton-Barkley
Cora Flowers
Stefanie Jackson
Rita Johnson
Irma Lewis
Karen Mathiak
Ben Miller
Eula Redding
Robin Shepard
Joy Shirley
Cynthia K. Tidwell 


 Duties of the Board of Directors

  • Attend quarterly board meetings in accordance with by-laws (minimum of 50%)
  • Develop, adopt and recommend, and from time to time amend a comprehensive plan for the Griffin/Spalding community to deal effectively with the problems experienced by children, youth and families in the community to achieve the adopted goal
  • Develop and facilitate collaboration, coordination of services and data integration among public and private agencies, institutions and organizations in implementing the plan and monitoring the well- being of children and families
  • Monitor and report to the board of Commissioners of Spalding County, the Mayors and Councils of municipalities in the County (to include Griffin, Sunnyside, and Orchard Hill), and to the community on the implementation of the comprehensive plan developed by the Authority and to provide administrative services and assistance in implementing and carrying out this plan, when necessary
  • Contract or recommend and promote contracts with public and private organizations to provide programs and services to carry out the provisions of the comprehensive plan
  • Facilitate by contract and collaboration the integration and coordination of programs and Services by public and private organizations to carry out the provisions of the comprehensive
  • Advocate for the well-being of children and families in the community
  • Serve as a review and recommending body to local governments on issues and policies proposed by public agencies, institutions, and private organizations that relate to the well-being of children and families

Board Manual